Maryland Fertility Billing
& IVF Mandate Guide
Covers IVF with a 3-cycle lifetime limit; diagnosis and treatment of infertility broadly covered
What's Covered Under Maryland's Mandate
Up to 3 IVF cycles per lifetime. Always verify individual plan benefit designs at patient intake — use mandate-aware eligibility verification to catch plan-level exclusions the statute doesn't cover.
Up to 3 IVF cycles per lifetime
Covered for diagnosis and treatment of infertility
Covered as part of IVF benefit
Covered when clinically indicated
Covered — verify storage benefit limits per plan
Medically indicated egg freezing typically covered
Not mandated for social/elective freezing
Not mandated — payer discretion
Exempt from MD state mandate
Maryland Billing Notes
CareFirst BlueCross BlueShield (dominant payer in MD) requires thorough prior auth documentation. Include all prior fertility treatment records, clinical notes, and physician letter of medical necessity.
Kaiser Permanente Mid-Atlantic operates as an HMO — all ART services must be performed by in-network providers. Verify network participation before beginning treatment for Kaiser patients.
Track each patient's IVF cycle count. The MD mandate covers 3 lifetime cycles. Request benefit verification that includes prior utilization at the start of each new patient intake.
Cigna plans in Maryland often require documentation of prior less-invasive treatment (IUI, medication) before approving IVF. Confirm step therapy criteria with Cigna's fertility benefit team.
MD §15-810 applies only to fully-insured individual and group plans (50+ employees) issued in Maryland, but the Baltimore-Washington corridor concentrates several plan-type categories the mandate does not reach. Federal Employees Health Benefits (FEHB) plans covering the federal workforce clustered in Montgomery, Prince George's, and Anne Arundel counties are governed by federal law rather than §15-810 — the FEHB carriers that offer ART benefits (BCBS Federal Employee Program, GEHA, Kaiser FEHB) do so under federally-negotiated designs, not the state mandate. Federal-contractor employers in the biotech, defense, aerospace, and consulting clusters typically administer self-funded ERISA plans on a national network overlay, which are also exempt. And because CareFirst BCBS operates across MD, DC, and Northern Virginia under a shared Mid-Atlantic footprint, a patient carrying a CareFirst card may be enrolled in a plan issued in DC or VA — the state of issuance, not the patient's residence, determines mandate applicability. Plan card branding does not disclose funding type or state of issuance; verify both at intake before quoting the MD 3-cycle benefit.
MD's 3-IVF-cycle lifetime cap under §15-810 makes the payer's cycle-counting definition materially consequential. Payers interpret the mandate at the benefit-administration level: some count each fresh oocyte retrieval, some count a retrieval plus all derived embryo transfers as a single cycle, some exclude cancelled cycles (no eggs obtained) from the count, and some count each stimulation-to-pregnancy attempt separately. Get the payer's cycle-counting definition in writing at benefits verification and document it in the patient chart — with only 3 lifetime cycles allowed, an incorrect assumption typically surfaces on the third cycle when there is no remaining benefit to appeal against. This matters especially on CareFirst BCBS, which as the dominant Mid-Atlantic payer tracks utilization across its multi-jurisdictional footprint.
Because Maryland payers — particularly CareFirst BCBS across the Mid-Atlantic footprint — track lifetime IVF cycle utilization against the 3-cycle cap across in-state providers, the payer's cycle count and the patient's self-reported count often disagree at intake. Request a written benefit history from the plan administrator that itemizes prior utilization, and include that documentation in the initial prior authorization submission for any patient who has received fertility care at another Maryland, DC, or Northern Virginia practice, or resumed treatment after a gap. Unverified prior-cycle counts trigger administrative denials that can delay stimulation start by two to three weeks and, in some cases, force retrospective re-adjudication of covered claims.
Top Payers in Maryland
EasyRCM tip: Payer requirements change frequently. We track prior auth workflows, coverage criteria updates, and denial pattern shifts for every major payer in Maryland — so you don't have to.
Maryland Fertility Billing — FAQ
How many IVF cycles does Maryland cover?
Maryland mandates coverage for up to 3 IVF cycles per lifetime for patients meeting the infertility definition.
What is the infertility definition under Maryland law?
Maryland defines infertility as the inability to conceive after 12 months of unprotected intercourse, or 6 months for women aged 35 or older. Same-sex couples may qualify under alternative criteria.
Does Maryland cover IVF for same-sex couples?
Maryland law has been broadly interpreted to include same-sex couples who cannot conceive due to their relationship structure. Verify with the specific payer, as benefit determinations can vary.
Are federal employee (FEHB) and self-funded ERISA plans exempt from the Maryland fertility mandate?
Yes. MD Code, Insurance §15-810 regulates fully-insured individual and group health plans (with 50 or more employees for group plans) issued in Maryland. Self-funded ERISA plans are governed by federal law and are exempt from state insurance mandates, and Federal Employees Health Benefits (FEHB) plans covering the federal workforce are federally regulated — the FEHB carriers that offer ART benefits (BCBS Federal Employee Program, GEHA, Kaiser FEHB) do so under their own federally-negotiated benefit designs, not §15-810. This distinction is particularly consequential in Maryland because the Baltimore-Washington corridor concentrates federal-employee plans across Montgomery, Prince George's, and Anne Arundel counties, plus federal-contractor self-funded plans in the biotech, defense, aerospace, and consulting employer clusters. Plan card branding does not disclose funding type — verify with the plan administrator at benefits verification, not from the card.
Does Maryland's mandate cover ICSI, embryo cryopreservation, and PGT?
Under MD Code §15-810: ICSI is covered when clinically indicated (male-factor infertility documented in the medical record), and embryo cryopreservation is covered as part of the IVF benefit. PGT (preimplantation genetic testing) is not specifically mandated — coverage varies by plan design, and some CareFirst BCBS plans cover PGT-A only under narrower clinical criteria (advanced maternal age, recurrent pregnancy loss, prior aneuploid pregnancy) that require separate prior authorization. Standalone elective (non-medical) egg freezing without a documented medical indication is not mandated. Individual plan benefit designs may also impose storage-duration limits on cryopreserved embryos beyond the initial cycle, so verify the specific plan's storage benefit at intake alongside cycle-count verification.
Billing under Maryland's mandate?
EasyRCM handles fertility billing for practices in Maryland and all 21 mandate states — from eligibility verification and prior auth to denial appeals and A/R recovery.
Book Your Free MD Billing Review →